Average Joe’s

Nobody wants to be average. Everyone’s got goals, or so I would hope, and everyone wants to get to somewhere they aren’t right now. I don’t think anybody wakes up in the morning and says “Hey, I really want to be average today.” The problem is, not everybody wants to work for what they get. I’d say this is true for most Americans. We live in a culture that demands “Success! Success! Success!” yet screams “Apathy! Apathy! Apathy!” It’s a do what you want kinda deal. Be whoever you want to be, no matter how you can get there. It’s a good thing culture doesn’t define us and we aren’t limited to what the world says we can do.

Ephesians 2:10-“For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.”

We are Christ’s workmanship. Not everyone is called to be a pastor, a missionary, or a musician. This scripture states we are “created…for good works, which God prepared beforehand”, meaning we are called to use the god-given talents the Lord has given us for the Kingdom. Everything’s working together. I, James, might have different qualities, different traits that God equipped me with than you; and vice versa. You have different qualities and traits God equipped you with.

There are two verses that, no matter what we’re doing or where we are in life, we can use as spiritual measuring sticks (if you will) as to if what we’re doing is pleasing to the Lord.

1. Matthew 5:16-“Let your light so shine before men that they may see your works and glorify your Father in heaven.”

This is one of my favorite verses in the Bible. Is what YOU are doing right now pointing people to the cross? Are you being intentional with your walk and realizing every day is a day to lead a lost soul to Christ? And believe me, I’m the first to say I can do a better job at this. Remember that song we sang as a kid in Sunday School?

“This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine. Oh, this little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine. This little light of mine, oh, I’m gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.”

Great memories. I remember singing songs like that in Kids Church. Those days with Pastor Adam were the best. I remember we used to have a monetary system in kids church, I think the currency was called “powerbucks” or something like that. We got them when we were good and we could trade it in after service for prizes. I remember one time my mom gave me and by best friend Andrew as a kid some powerbucks on our birthday in October. It was sweet, she wasn’t supposed to do it though.

Go a couple verses back in Matthew 5 and let’s pick up at 14-15: “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.”

We have ALL been given lights. A lot of times I feel like I’m under a basket instead of on a lampstand, letting life pass me by while I struggle to keep my head above the water. As Christians, we’re called to a higher purpose. A higher plan. We are the salt and light of the world, the flavor. Why blend in? I’m tired of seeing churches or speakers attempt to not step on anyone’s toes in the way they present themselves. Jesus tells us in John 15:19 says that we are not of this world. It’s a mere temporary stay till Heaven. We are called to let our light SHINE before men. Let’s start doing it.

2. 1 Corinthians 10:31-“So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”

How did Paul hit it straight on? He doesn’t leave any error for excuse. “But God, how do I give you glory in all I do?” I love watching sports, but it’s crazy how so many of these athletes think they’re playing for themselves. There’s no difference in musicians or movie stars either. We are living for the glory of God. We go to class for the glory of God. We go to the gas station for the glory of God. We use the bathroom…for the glory of God.

Stop reading for just a moment after this next sentence and ask yourself what you were doing at 1:00 today. Were you doing it for the glory of God? I was watching football (Rise Up). Was God getting the glory while I was watching it? I still struggle with this verse sometimes and how it pertains to EVERY aspect of my life. Colossians 3:23 can help us out here:”And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men.” In everything you did today, did you do it for God or for man? You’ll never be wholly free until you live to impress nobody but your Savior.

We are all called to different places, different jobs, and different circumstances. With everything we do, we can ask ourselves, “Am I letting my light shine? Are my god-given abilities being put on display in what I’m doing?” and “Am I giving all the glory of whatever I’m doing to God?” Thanks for listening.

“Come thou fount of every blessing, tune my heart to sing thy grace…”

Leave a Reply

