To Live is Christ

To die is gain. Philippians 1:21 (“For to me, to live is Christ, to die is gain.”) is such a simple verse. Of all the deep theology and debated principles in the Bible, Paul gives us two thoughts. One: To live is Christ; and Two: To die is gain.

Many people build up their riches on Earth. They buy cars, houses, clothes, etc.; things that can get rusty or can be destroyed by moths (check Matthew 6:20). Paul writes in Colossians 3:2-“Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.” But isn’t it hard to see the end when all we see is a black tunnel in front of us sometimes? It starts with our identity. We have to know that we aren’t truly what the world says we are.

Galatians 2:20 is perhaps my favorite verse in the Bible, and I could do a separate blog breaking it down into 4 parts if I chose. It says, “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me, and the life I which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” The moment we were born we died, according to the verse. “It is no longer I who live” is what I am trying to communicate here. Going back to Colossians we can look at the verse after chapter 3 verse 2: “For you died and your life is hidden with Christ in God” (Colossians 3:2). Our lives are hidden, and people don’t see us; at least, they shouldn’t. Not only are our lives hidden in Christ, but we are called to be the hands and feet of Christ, continuing his ministry he started around 2,000 years ago.

“To live is Christ”-We are sinful creatures with nothing good inside of us (Romans 7:18), yet we are set free by a captivating love from Jesus through unfathomable grace from his Father. Every word we say, every action we make, it is for Jesus. To live IS Christ.

My favorite rapper of all time, Trip Lee, put it this way in one of his songs: “Death is just a doorway to take me to my faithful lover.” When we think of death in the sense that death already happened when we died (I have been crucified with Christ), it makes the concept of an earthly death more bearable. The concept of death is nothing to be fear about. The fact of the matter that we as Christians live on Earth for a finite time, and that Heaven is eternal, is real. And it’s captivating. Embrace death. As a matter of fact, die daily, like Paul says here, in 1 Corinthians 15:31-“I affirm, by the boasting in you which I have in Christ Jesus our Lord, I die daily.” Thank you for your time.

Leave a Reply

