Grace

Grace is the reason I am alive. It is not of my own doing. It is 100% God’s work in my life-sending his son Jesus to die on a cross and rise again, in having mercy on my soul. Grace is the act of God showing forgiveness on sinners through Jesus. Every morning you wake up and deserve judgement and condemnation, you receive life (which is Jesus [Colossians 3:4]) and a choice of whether or not to serve the Lord that day. This is grace.

Paraphrasing this verse, we see that Ephesians 2:4-7 says this: “But God…made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved), and raised us up together, and made us sit together in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, that in the ages to come He might show the exceeding riches of His grace in His kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.” I do not value grace enough. I would say none of us truly do. Grace is not a one time offer, nor is it something that fades with time. Grace is eternal-we always can accept grace as a free gift from God through Jesus. When I do not openly thank the Lord for his grace over my life daily, saving me from my own sin, I am undervaluing the riches of his grace. Knowing this, it’s important we not only thank God daily for his saving grace, but that we also look forward to the grace that is to come, that God is pouring out to us through Jesus. The riches of this world do not phase me; I desperately want to grasp the riches of the grace that is Jesus Christ. His grace is enough for me.

Leave a Reply

