The Weight of the Need

Sometimes I feel as though I need God more times than other. In my naturally carnal mind, I value things, people, and opinions more than I value God. Paul talks about how “those who are in the flesh cannot please God” (Romans 8:8). In my mind, my flesh and spirit clash against one another. Knowing I need to “put to death the deeds of the body” (8:13) in order to live, I tend to thing I need these fleshly things more than the single spiritual thing: the need for God.

When I consider the weight of my need for God, I go through whether I need him a little, for guidance throughout the day, or I need him a lot, to keep my eyes from wandering and for lustful thoughts to permeate my mind. The weight of my need for God can be little, or it can be high. The weight of my need for God needs to supersede the weight of my need for water, breath, food, and air. How do I get there? How can I go from saying, “Life’s good right now God. Keep doing what you are doing and this relationship will be fine,” to, “God I need you every minute of my day. I’m nothing without you, and even when I don’t realize it and don’t consider your thoughts for me, I NEED you God. I NEED you for every move I make today.”

Going through my One-Year Bible this morning, I read a passage of Scripture in Ezekiel 33:11 that says, “Say to them, ‘As I live,’ declares the Lord God, ‘I have no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but that the wicked turn from his way and live; turn back, turn back from your evil ways, for why will you die, O house of Israel?'” The Bible has this thing where these people of God (the Israelites) have turned from God and despised his commandments, yet he still doesn’t take pleasure in the death of the wicked. God still has a need to love his people, and a large weight of need at that. God is moved by his people. His desire for them to live is heavy.

When will I come to the point to where I understand God does not need me? He doesn’t. He is simply fine on his own. The weight of my need of God needs to be attempted to be close to matching the love and compassion of God over me. In reading this passage, I realize that even though he does not, should not, and has no reason to continue to pursue me, he still does. And in this, I am encouraged to increase the weight of my need of God. All Christians (and for that matter non-Christians) need God in some form or fashion, even if we don’t realize it. Do you need God a little, or do you need God a lot? I hope this is encouragement for someone reading. God doesn’t need you, yet he still shines his love on you. God doesn’t need you. His desire for you to be saved is ever consistent (2 Peter 3:9). So knowing that God is consistent on his end, I encourage you to ask yourself: Do you need him?

Leave a Reply

