Structure vs. Faith

Everyone knows about faith. It’s defined by Merriam-Webster as this: “strong belief or trust in someone or something.” We all have some sort of faith. Based off our knowledge, we make choices. If I wake up tomorrow and choose to have cereal instead of bacon and eggs (which won’t happen), it’s because I believe cereal would be a better choice for my taste buds than bacon and eggs. Stretch this out into our daily lives and we are constantly making decisions because we trust one thing over another for whatever reason.

The Bible says we are justified by faith. It’s so important-Ephesians 2:8 tells us, “For grace you have been saved through faith.”. Grace, God having mercy on a sinful mankind by sacrificing his son, is half the equation of salvation, and the other half is faith. God gives grace and asks us for faith. He doesn’t only ask us for faith, but asks we live by faith; Habakkuk 2:4-“…the righteous shall live by his faith.”

I’ve never thought much about faith. I live by faith. I love Jesus, don’t make a lot of mistakes, read my bible, and uphold his commands. It wasn’t till, reading “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan, when the question was posed to me: What in my life requires faith? I was dumbfounded. I searched my brain for an answer but couldn’t get one. I wake up and know what my schedule is for the day. I drive a car wherever I want to go. I have education provided for. Just about everything that happens to me during the day seems like it is going to an easy, simple plan. I am not living by faith. Christ means much to me, and I spend time with him, but my life is structured. At the slightest thought of worry about my future-my job, my wife, my house-any thought of “faith” in my body is zapped. Worry leads to doubt, which opposes faith.

As I have been considering this question, What in my life requires faith, I’ve had to ask myself where my trust in God is. It’s not enough for me to love Christ-I’ve been asked to follow a path that hasn’t been traveled and trust God will provide. I’m not saying all structure is bad-certainly we have to have a plan for our future. But to me, faith is not knowing what lies ahead yet trusting that God does. I have had to reassess what aspects of my life I need to have faith in God-where I can say that I don’t know what is going to happen but I place my faith in a higher power. God is requiring me to trust he knows best.

Leave a Reply

