Selflessness

We all have problems with selfishness. I’m selfish. You’re probably selfish. We are constantly thinking of our own needs and acting upon them. It’s the epidemic of living in a postmodern 21st century Western culture that emphasizes the needs of the consumer. It’s engrained in our culture to do what pleases us.

Yet as Christians, we’re called to do the opposite. Look at what Paul says in Colossians 3:1-3 (NASB): “Therefore if you have been raised up with Christ, keep seeking the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on the things that are on the earth. For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ.” It’s hard to practice though. Our desire will constantly be to put our needs first. I constantly finding situations where I want pleasure for myself rather than giving it to others. Why help somebody else if it has little direct effect on my day? I continually have to remind myself who I am. Like Paul says, we have died and our life is hidden with Christ. Christ lives in me, moves in my life, and is seen in my life each day.

I encourage you to find circumstances throughout the day to help others when you may have no benefit for yourself. Do something more than hold a door open or give somebody a ride. Intentionally go out of your way to find out what somebody needs done and help them. I’m not saying to totally neglect yourself to devote yourself to others in the sense that if you don’t eat, you will starve, if you don’t have time to yourself, you may go insane, and if you never study, you will flunk out of school. Essentials are essentials. Start out with something small. I am by no means perfect and am striving daily to live more selfless. Remember-if you are a believer in Christ, you’ve died to yourself and your sinful desires as is. Live in such a way that people see Christ serving others through your hands and feet.

Leave a Reply

